Senators announce 57-man roster for training camp

Veteran centre Jason Spezza will be among the 33 forwards in Senators training camp starting Wednesday. (Photo by: Pat McGrath/Ottawa Citizen)

The Ottawa Senators announced Tuesday the team’s 57-player roster for training camp and pre-season at Canadian Tire Centre and the Bell Sensplex.

The seven goaltenders, 17 defencemen and 33 forwards will report for medical exams and fitness testing on Wednesday, with on-ice sessions starting Thursday at the Sensplex.

Thirty-five players were selected by Ottawa in National Hockey League drafts, seven were obtained in trades, 12 were signed as free agents and three players were offered professional tryouts in training camp. All 25 players who were with the Senators in the recent rookie tournament at London, Ont., have been invited to camp.

The list includes defenceman Jared Cowen, who remains an unsigned restricted free agent after playing out his entry-level contract in 2012-13.

Here is the full training camp roster, showing each player’s 2012-13 teams in brackets.

Goaltenders: Craig Anderson (Ottawa — NHL), François Brassard (Quebec — QMJHL), Chris Driedger (Calgary — WHL), Scott Greenham (Bakersfield — ECHL, Binghamtom — AHL), Andrew Hammond (Bowling Green State — CCHA), Nathan Lawson (Elmira — ECHL, Binghamton — AHL), Robin Lehner (Binghamton — AHL, Ottawa — NHL).

Defencemen: Ben Blood (Elmira — ECHL, Binghamton — AHL), Mark Borowiecki (Binghamton — AHL, Ottawa — NHL), Cody Ceci (Ottawa — OHL, Owen Sound — OHL, Binghamton — AHL), Fredrik Claesson (Binghamton — AHL), Joe Corvo (Carolina — NHL), Jared Cowen (Binghamton — AHL, Ottawa — NHL), Tyler Eckford (Binghamton — AHL), Eric Gryba (Binghamton — AHL, Ottawa — NHL), Ben Harpur (Guelph — OHL), Erik Karlsson (Jokerit — SM-Liiga, Ottawa — NHL), Marc Methot (Ottawa — NHL), Daniel New (Elmira — ECHL, Binghamton — AHL), Chris Phillips (Ottawa — NHL), Troy Rutkowski (Portland — WHL), Michael Sdao (Princeton — ECAC, Binghamton — AHL), Chris Wideman (Elmira — ECHL, Binghamton — AHL), Patrick Wiercioch (Binghamton — AHL, Ottawa — NHL).

Forwards: Cory Conacher (Syracuse — AHL, Tampa Bay — NHL, Ottawa — NHL), Erik Condra (Fuessen — GER-3, Riessersee — GER-2, Ottawa — NHL), Corey Cowick (Binghamton — AHL), Jakub Culek (Cape Breton — QMJHL, Binghamton — AHL), Stéphane Da Costa (Binghamton — AHL, Ottawa — NHL), Vincent Dunn (Val d’Or — QMJHL), David Dziurzynski (Binghamton — AHL, Ottawa — NHL), Derek Grant (Binghamton — AHL, Ottawa — NHL), Colin Greening (Aalborg — Denmark, Ottawa — NHL), Wacey Hamilton (Binghamton — AHL), Danny Hobbs (Greenville — ECHL), Mike Hoffman (Binghamton — AHL, Ottawa — NHL), Ludwig Karlsson (Northeastern — Hockey East), Matt Kassian (Houston — AHL, Ottawa — NHL), Darren Kramer (Elmira — ECHL, Binghamton — AHL), Curtis Lazar (Edmonton — WHL), Clarke MacArthur (Crimmitschau — GER-2, Toronto — NHL), Jarrod Maidens (Owen Sound — OHL), Milan Michalek (Ceske Budejovice — Czech, Ottawa — NHL), Chris Neil (Ottawa — NHL), Jim O’Brien (Ottawa — NHL), Jean-Gabriel Pageau (Binghamton — AHL, Ottawa — NHL), Andre Petersson (Binghamton — AHL), Shane Prince (Binghamton — AHL), Matt Puempel (Kitchener — OHL, Binghamton — AHL), Buddy Robinson (Lake Superior State — CCHA, Binghamton — AHL), Bobby Ryan (Mora IK — SWE-1, Anaheim — NHL), Cole Schneider (Binghamton — AHL), Zack Smith (Frederikshavn — Denmark, Ottawa — NHL), Jason Spezza (Rapperswil — Swiss-A, Ottawa — NHL), Mark Stone (Binghamton — AHL, Ottawa — NHL), Kyle Turris (Karpart — SM-Liiga, Ottawa — NHL), Mika Zibanejad (Binghamton — AHL, Ottawa — NHL).

Tags: , ,

What do you think? Leave a comment